StandardsAboutContact
The Gulf Barrel
SLB OneSubsea's Rovuma LNG Subsea Award Is a Procurement

SLB OneSubsea's Rovuma LNG Subsea Award Is a Procurement

SLB OneSubsea will supply subsea production systems for the first phase of Mozambique's 18.6 million tonne-per-year Rovuma LNG project. The award shows equipment being lined up, but the coverage cited here does not report a final investment decision.

SLB OneSubsea's Rovuma LNG award is a procurement signal, not proof the project is financed. Offshore Technology reports a 30 September 2026 contract for subsea trees, manifolds, umbilicals and controls on the first phase of an 18.6 million tonne-per-year project. A final investment decision has not been reported in that coverage. This is analysis, not trading advice.

The Gulf Barrel Desk · 3 min read

SLB OneSubsea has won the contract for subsea production systems on the first phase of Rovuma LNG in Mozambique's Rovuma Basin, Offshore Technology reported on 30 September 2026. The award is progress on equipment procurement. It is not evidence that the project's financing is closed, because the report does not mention a final investment decision. The distinction matters for anyone sizing how much Mozambican LNG may reach the market, and when. This is analysis, not trading advice.

What the contract covers

According to Offshore Technology, the contract covers subsea trees, manifolds, umbilicals and control systems, together with engineering, procurement, manufacturing and installation services. It was awarded by ExxonMobil Moçambique on behalf of the Area 4 partners. The report does not disclose a contract value or the number of trees, so the physical size of the order cannot be judged from it. SLB OneSubsea's chief executive said the award reflects the company's ability to deliver integrated subsea solutions.

Why a supply contract is not an investment decision

A contract award shows that procurement is being lined up, while a final investment decision is the point at which partners commit capital to build. Offshore Technology's report gives no FID date. Lusa, carried by AMAN, reports that ExxonMobil reiterated in August 2026 an intention to take the decision before the end of the year. That is a stated intention, and until a decision is announced the project is announced, not financed.

The scale of the project

Offshore Technology sizes Rovuma LNG at 18.6 million tonnes per year, developed from three fields in the Mamba complex within Area 4, in a basin it says contains more than 85 trillion cubic feet of natural gas. It reports development plans were submitted in July 2018 and approved by the government in May 2019. The seven years from approval to this contract show how slowly large LNG build-outs move from permit to procurement.

Who holds the stakes

Offshore Technology reports that Area 4 is held 70% by Mozambique Rovuma Venture, which combines Eni, ExxonMobil and CNPC, with ADNOC's XRG, KOGAS and ENH holding 10% each. The report does not describe offtake arrangements for any partner, so where the LNG will be sold is unconfirmed. Ownership alone does not show who will buy the cargoes, and offtake contracts are what lenders typically want to see before financing closes.

What to watch next

The next real signals are an announced FID, the financing package and offtake contracts. The Journal of Petroleum Technology reports ExxonMobil has lifted force majeure on the project as security concerns eased, clearing the way for an anticipated 2026 decision. Subsea hardware is a necessary piece, but liquefaction capacity and buyers determine when cargoes load. Treat any start-up date as unconfirmed until the operator announces a decision.

What did SLB OneSubsea win on Rovuma LNG?
Offshore Technology reports a contract for subsea production systems for the first phase of Rovuma LNG. The scope covers subsea trees, manifolds, umbilicals and control systems, with engineering, procurement, manufacturing and installation services. The contract value was not disclosed.
Does the contract mean Rovuma LNG has reached a final investment decision?
Not on the evidence cited here. The Offshore Technology report gives no FID date. Lusa, carried by AMAN, reports that ExxonMobil reiterated in August 2026 its intention to decide before the end of the year. Until a decision is announced, the project is announced and being contracted, not confirmed as financed.
How large is the project and who holds Area 4?
Offshore Technology sizes Rovuma LNG at 18.6 million tonnes per year. It reports Area 4 is held 70% by Mozambique Rovuma Venture (Eni, ExxonMobil and CNPC), with ADNOC's XRG, KOGAS and ENH holding 10% each.
  1. SLB OneSubsea wins Rovuma LNG subsea systems contract — Offshore Technology
  2. Mozambique: Final investment decision on Rovuma LNG before end of year — AMAN / Lusa
  3. ExxonMobil Lifts Force Majeure on Mozambique Megaproject — Journal of Petroleum Technology (SPE)